New music from The Ocean and The Dillinger Escape Plan

The Ocean have posted a new song, ‘Bathyalpelagic II: The Wish in Dreams’, from their new album Pelagial, due to be released April 30th through Metal Blade. The German post metallers’ new record will be the follow-up to 2010’s stunning duo of concept records Heliocentric and Anthropocentric, two albums that were more than impressive standouts from that year.

‘Bathyalpelagic II: The Wish in Dreams’, as the band explains, is the fastest song from the album. Unlike them, it’s actually quite short opposed to the seven to ten minute dirges that mostly characterised their prior two albums. The new record is a concept album exploring the different depth regions of the earth’s seas. Starting in ambient and serene territory, the record will get progressively heavier on each song as the themes changes to a deeper region. It’s a very interesting topic and idea for a concept record and ‘Bathyalpelagic…’ is the fourth track so it indicates that by the 11th and final track, The Ocean may have written their heaviest material yet. Check out the new track below.

Meanwhile, another high profile album release is coming in May from The Dillinger Escape Plan called One of Us is the Killer. ‘Prancer’ the first taster is here, streaming through the band’s new home at Sumerian Records.

‘Prancer’ is everything you expect from a Dillinger track and while that may have been an acceptable thing to say in 2007 when Ire Works came out, it doesn’t fly here. While 2010’s Option Paralysis was a solid and sometimes even a great record, it did feel a little phoned in and predictable at times. That’s pretty much the case with ‘Prancer’. Of course, people will still call it unpredictable and manic and chaotic and the usual clichés.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s