Cynic to release new EP

On the Cynic forums, Paul Masvidal posted many months ago that a new Cynic album by the end 2011 was becoming less and less likely, but now we get this nugget of info. OK, it’s not a new full-length record but it’s a new EP from the prog metal legends entitled, Carbon-Based Anatomy and will be released on November 11th. Unlike last year’s Re-Traced EP, this is entirely new material consisting of six tracks. Excitingly, all bass parts for the EP were recorded by legendary and classic Cynic bassist, Sean Malone.
Paul Masvidal has described the work as “both a philosophical as well as a musical journey, one that begins in the Amazon jungle on the lips of a shamanic wisewoman (as portrayed by Amy Correia) and ends in outerspace”. Check out the tracklisting and artwork for Carbon-Based Anatomy below.
1) Amidst The Coals
2) Carbon-Based Anatomy
3) Bija!
4) Box Up My Bones
5) Elves Beam Out
6) Hieroglyph

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s